Australia name experimental squad for Oceania Sevens after rigours of busy start to the season

Australia name experimental squad for Oceania Sevens after rigours of busy start to the season

The Qantas Australian Men’s Sevens squad for the Oceania Sevens Championship has been named with eight uncapped players to get their first capped opportunity for Australia when the tournament kicks off on Friday 10 November.

Fresh after the Aussie 7s victory at the Silicon Valley Sevens, Head Coach Andy Friend has opted to give an opportunity to some of the younger players in the squad, to ensure more game time for all players heading into the start of the HSBC Sevens World Series in Dubai on December 2. Australia’s victory in the USA is now the third tournament in a row that Australia has won.

Assistant Coach, Jarred Hodges will coach the side in Fiji.

Qantas Australian Men’s Sevens Head Coach Andy Friend said: “Such is the global nature of Rugby Sevens we have had commitments in America with the Silicon Valley Sevens and the Oceania Sevens in Suva, Fiji.

“With eight guys to get their first cap for Australia, it gives our squad another opportunity to demonstrate the inroads we have been making across our entire squad following on from our success at the Central Coast Sevens.

“It is a massive year for our game and these guys know that we are still looking to secure some tier one contracts to enhance our squad.”

Qantas Australian Assistant Coach Jarred Hodges said: “There is some really exciting talent in this group and I’m looking forward to seeing what they do on the park this weekend, in what will be a very challenging competition.

“Tonga and the Solomon Islands will offer very different styles of Rugby and across the other pools we know that Fiji at home will be very tough as well as New Zealand.”

Australia has been placed in Pool C with Tonga and the Solomon Islands. The matches will be streamed LIVE across Oceania Rugby’s digital channels.

Qantas Australian Men’s Sevens Fixtures:

Friday November 10

  • Australia v Solomon Islands, 2.00pm AEDT
  • Australia v Tonga, 5.00pm AEDT