England Sevens name squad for Paris on HSBC World Sevens Series

England Sevens name squad for Paris on HSBC World Sevens Series

England have named their squad for the Paris Sevens (13-14 May), the penultimate round of HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, before the final tournament is played in London next weekend.

Simon Amor’s side beat Australia to win bronze in Singapore and as a single change to the group, captain Tom Mitchell returns to fitness and takes the place of the injured Richard de Carpentier.

England are third in the world series standings, two points behind Fiji, and pushing for a second-place finish to make it their most successful season since 2006.

This weekend England play Spain, France and Kenya in Pool C at the Stade Jean Bouin.

Head Coach Simon Amor said: “We set high standards for our performances and were disappointed to see a dip in the last two tournaments, having otherwise made good improvements in our style of play across the season. Finishing second in the series would be a great achievement but our focus is 100% on our first game against Spain in Paris.

“It has been a tough and bruising world series and there is always a level of fatigue at this point in the season. We have picked a strong squad which includes some guys who are returning to match fitness so a full 12/13 man effort is more important than ever."

“The flags and the atmosphere in the Stade Jean Bouin were brilliant last year, it really inspired the French team and it is exciting that we get to play them in the pool stages. This season we have enjoyed the challenge of facing host teams – we’ve played South Africa, New Zealand and USA at their home events and they are always very special games to be part of.”

England’s pool C fixtures, all live on Sky Sports with times in BST:

  • v Spain (11.34am)
  • v France (3pm)
  • v Kenya (6.26pm)

England Sevens squad for Paris:

  • Dan Bibby
  • Tom Bowen
  • Phil Burgess
  • Will Edwards
  • Harry Glover
  • Charlie Hayter
  • Ollie Lindsay-Hague
  • Ruaridh McConnochie
  • Tom Mitchell (c)
  • Callum Sirker
  • Dan Norton
  • James Rodwell
  • 13th man: Will Glover