Hong Kong Sevens

Hong Kong Sevens


Hong Kong, Hong Kong


28 March 2019 to 30 March 2019

27 March 2019 to 29 March 2019

08 April 2019 to 10 April 2019

The Hong Kong Sevens is considered to be the jewel in the crown of the IRB Sevens World Series. The tournament was set up in 1976 and has risen to become the highest profile sevens tournament in the world, and a firm favourite of players and fans alike. 120,000 fans pack the seats of the Hong Kong Stadium over the three days of the tournament.

28 teams not the usual 16

The tournament differs from the other IRB series events, by welcoming 28 of the world best rugby sevens teams instead of the usual 16 which includes the HSBC World Sevens Series qualifier with the winner taking it's sport on the series next season. In 2009 it was an all pacific island affair in the final, Samoa narrowly beating New Zealand 24 – 21.

The Hong Kong Sevens is one of the most anticipated events in the Hong Kong sporting calendar. Not only for the elite level rugby sevens, but the phenomenal party atmosphere that is created. The South stand becomes home to fans who dance, drink and in some occasions streak the day away.

Live Text Commentary

If you can’t make it to the Hong Kong Sevens, check out the UR7s live text commentaryto keep up to date with all the on and off the field action.

The Hong Kong Sevens isn’t the only international rugby sevens tournament the Hong Kong Stadium has hosted. In 1997 and 2005 the stadium hosted the IRB Rugby World Cup Sevens.

Related Content