Wellington Sevens

Wellington Sevens


Wellington, New Zealand


07 February 2019 to 08 February 2019

30 January 2019 to 31 January 2019

The Wellington Sevens is the fifth leg of the IRB Sevens World Series, and is held in the Westpac Stadium, also known as the “Cake Tin”. The tournament welcomes 16 international teams who compete in two days of elite level sevens.

The 2010 tournament saw the two sevens power houses Samoa and Fiji in the final. Fiji just edged the victory 19-14 thanks to a man of the match performance from their captain Emosi Vucago.

Wild party atmosphere

The Wellington Sevens has a reputation as being one of the biggest parties on the circuit, with the majority of spectators donning fancy dress. A pre tournament parade throughout the streets of Wellington kicks things off and a wild party atmosphere gets the whole town rocking over the course of the weekend.

Live Text Commentary

If you can’t make it to the Wellington Sevens, check out the UR7s live text commentary to keep up to date with all the on and off the field action.

Related Content